How To Cancel Zoom Subscription Effectively—Process Explained

Ashley Ferraro, Consumer Operations
Dec 12, 2023
 • 
10
 Min Read

Zoom is a platform that facilitates team communication through chat, calls, meetings, and whiteboards. Although liked and used by many, Zoom hasn't met the expectations of all users. Most complaints revolve around customer support—the difficulty of reaching a live agent and particular agents’ inability to resolve reported issues. Other users may have a different reason for cancellation—such as a desire to try out an alternative like Microsoft Teams or Google Meet.

To understand how to cancel your Zoom subscription with minimal friction, consult this guide. Besides useful information about Zoom's cancellation process, you'll also learn how to prevent unwelcome charges from other companies.

Note that the information in this article was sourced in November 2023. Visit the official Zoom website for updates.

A photo of a smartphone displaying Zoom’s page in an app store
Source: Gabriel Tan

How To Cancel Zoom—A Step-by-Step Tutorial

To cancel your Zoom subscription, you should:

  1. Log into the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click on your profile icon to access the navigation menu.
  3. Select Plans and Billing, then Plan Management
  4. Click on the Manage option on the right of the plan you want to cancel.
  5. Within the dialog box, click on Cancel Plan, then Confirm Your Cancellation.

You should receive an email confirming your cancellation was successful.

If you’ve purchased Zoom via a direct sales quote, you’ll have to email your dedicated Account Executive or renewals@zoom.us to cancel. In case you’ve bought Zoom via the Google Play Store or the App Store, you must discontinue your Zoom subscription via those platforms.

Can You Cancel Zoom After One Month?

Yes—you can cancel Zoom anytime. After canceling, your current plan will be active until the end of the ongoing billing cycle and won’t renew. However, to avoid paying for the next month’s or year’s subscription, it’s advisable to cancel at least a few days before the renewal date, which is displayed alongside the plan in the Plan Management section.

A photo of a person using a laptop for a Zoom meeting
Source: Anna Shvets

What To Do In Case of Cancellation Issues With Zoom

If you run into problems while terminating your Zoom subscription, you may be able to get help using one of the channels in the table below:


Method
Who It’s Available For
Requesting a live support agent from the chatbot on the website
Everyone
Creating a web ticket describing the situation
Basic and Pro subscribers can only submit requests for billing support, while those with Business, Enterprise, or Educational accounts can create tickets for cancellation issues as well
Calling Technical or Billing Support on the phone
Available only for Licensed owners or administrators of Business, Enterprise, or Educational accounts or Licensed members on an account with a Premier or Premier+ support plan

According to user reviews, alleged cancellation issues may not be uncommon with Zoom. For example, one user complained that they were directed to a 404 page from the unsubscribe URL. A few other reviewers claimed that their request wasn’t processed and that they were charged despite canceling on time. While Zoom has refunded some users, others allegedly weren’t so lucky.

Nowadays, complicated and time-consuming cancellation processes are an unfortunate reality. Some companies may resort to this behavior to ensure you remain a paying customer for as long as possible. To avoid unwanted subscription charges and the subsequent hassle while canceling a service, make sure you use virtual cards to sign up from the get-go.

How Virtual Cards Can Help

Virtual cards mask your real financial information with random card numbers at checkout, shielding it in case of data breaches on the merchant’s servers. By opting for an independent virtual card provider such as Privacy, you can also get access to features that give you more spending control and allow you to prevent sneaky merchants from overcharging you.

Privacy Virtual Cards—Your Protection From Unwarranted Transactions

Be it an entertainment platform, such as Paramount Plus, Dish Network, and HBO Max, or an educational tool like Grammarly and Chegg, paying for it with Privacy Virtual Cards ensures your funds are protected from unauthorized and unjustified charges.

You can sign up for Privacy, link your debit card or bank account, and generate multiple virtual cards for different purposes. Learn about the two types of Privacy Cards in the following table:


Type
Specifics
When To Use It
Single-Use
This card closes shortly after you complete the first purchase.
It’s suitable for vendors you haven’t transacted with before and whose reliability you’re unsure of.
Merchant-Locked
This card locks to a single merchant and can’t be used elsewhere.
It’s especially useful for your go-to merchants and subscription services like Peloton, Verizon, Walmart, and DashPass.

Merchant-Locked Cards come with additional benefits that make them an ideal choice for managing subscriptions:

  • Spending limits—You can set a spending limit on your card. If a merchant or subscription service attempts to charge you more than you agreed, the charge will be blocked by Privacy.
  • Pausing or closing—You can pause or close your card quickly without affecting the funding source. Privacy will decline all charges on said card, letting you complete the subscription cancellation process without worrying about any sneaky charges coming through.
A photo of a person holding a payment card and typing on a smartphone
Source: SHVETS production

Privacy—Additional Benefits and Plans To Consider

Privacy Virtual Cards make transactions not only safe but also fast and seamless. By installing the Privacy browser extension, you can have your virtual card numbers autofilled at checkout. This spares you from having to reach for your wallet every time you shop. You can get the extension for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. The Safari extension also has an iOS version that brings the autofill experience to iPhones and iPads.

To generate and manage virtual cards on the go, install the Privacy app on your Android or iOS device and enjoy secure and convenient payments wherever you are.

Privacy’s Personal plan is free for domestic transactions and comes with 12 virtual cards a month and all the above-mentioned perks. There are two other plans to consider, Pro ($10/month) and Premium ($25/month), which include features such as:

  • More virtual cards (up to 60 a month)
  • No foreign transaction fees
  • Priority support
  • 1% cashback on eligible purchases (totaling up to $4,500 per month)

To benefit from these fantastic features, take the steps listed below:

  1. Register on Privacy
  2. Fill out the information needed to verify your identity
  3. Link a bank account or debit card
  4. Request your Privacy Virtual Cards

Privacy — Seamless & Secure Online Card Payments
Checkout securely online by creating unique virtual card numbers for every purchase. Avoid data breaches, unwanted charges, and stolen credit card numbers.
Sign Up