User-Friendly Manual—How To Cancel YouTube TV on Different Devices

Ashley Ferraro, Consumer Operations
Jan 26, 2024
 • 
10
 Min Read

YouTube TV is a streaming service that offers live TV from various popular cable networks. While some users find its content valuable, others may not be entirely satisfied with the platform, leading to the decision to cancel their subscription.

If you’ve decided that this platform is not for you, this tutorial on how to cancel YouTube TV may be exactly what you’re looking for. You’ll discover what the process looks like on different devices and receive helpful guidelines for canceling the service without incurring unexpected fees and complications.

Note that the information in this article is current as of November 2023. Refer to the official YouTube TV website or get in touch with its customer support for updates.

A photo of a person watching TV and eating popcorn
Source: JESHOOTS.com

How To Cancel a YouTube TV Subscription on Android

To cancel a YouTube TV subscription on an Android mobile device, take the steps below:

  1. Launch the YouTube TV app or go to the official website on a browser.
  2. Tap your profile photo.
  3. Navigate to Settings, then Membership.
  4. Tap Manage.
  5. Tap Cancel membership.
  6. Confirm by tapping Cancel.

How To Cancel a YouTube TV Subscription on an iPhone or iPad

If you use YouTube TV on an iPhone or iPad, you can end your subscription as follows:

  1. Go to the official YouTube TV website on a browser.
  2. Tap your profile photo.
  3. Head to Settings, then Membership.
  4. Tap Manage.
  5. Tap Cancel membership.

How To Cancel YouTube TV on a Computer

If you wish to cancel YouTube TV on a computer, follow these directions:

  1. Go to the YouTube website.
  2. Tap your profile photo, then Purchases and memberships.
  3. Click Manage membership, then Deactivate.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Choose one of the reasons for cancellation and select Next.
  6. Click Yes, cancel to confirm.

How To Cancel YouTube TV on Roku

You can discontinue YouTube TV from a Roku device or via the website as explained below:

On a Roku Device On the Website
  1. Press the Home button on the remote.

  2. Access your subscriptions in one of the two ways:

    1. To access them from your channel lineup, select Home, highlight YouTube TV using the arrow buttons, and then press the Star button.

    2. To access them from the Channel Store, scroll down and select Streaming Channels. Find the YouTube TV subscription, then press OK.

  3. Select Manage subscription.

  4. Select Cancel subscription.

  1. Go to your Roku account.

  2. Click Manage your subscriptions.

  3. Click the Unsubscribe option next to YouTube TV.

A photo of a person simultaneously using their smartphone and laptop
Source: Christina Morillo

Can You Cancel YouTube TV Anytime?

Yes—you are free to cancel your YouTube TV subscription at any point. After canceling, you’ll have access to the app’s benefits until the end of the billing period. However, canceling a free trial before it expires will cause you to lose access immediately. 

Once you cancel YouTube TV and the billing period ends, here’s what you can expect:

  • You won’t be able to access add-on networks or add any of them.
  • The recorded programs in your library will expire after 21 days, but your preferences will be saved in case you decide to return to YouTube TV.
  • By restarting your subscription, you may not be able to get the same promotional pricing or access recordings.
  • Google may store some of your information, such as your zip code, for billing and fraud prevention purposes.

Why Is It Sometimes Difficult To Cancel Subscriptions?

While some companies allow you to stop your subscription online in a few clicks, others require you to jump through a seemingly endless cycle of hoops. For example, they may allow only in-person cancellation or make the online cancellation funnel so confusing that you end up missing a step and paying for another monthly installment. These tactics are referred to as a “roach motel,” and their goal is to deceive you into remaining subscribed for as long as possible.

Lawmakers are working on the new “click-to-cancel” rule that would require companies to simplify subscription cancellation, but they may still have a long way to go to accomplish this. If you want to ensure no excessive charges can sneak through, you can use a Privacy virtual card when purchasing a subscription—be it an entertainment source such as Hulu, Apple Music, and Disney Plus or a delivery service such as HelloFresh and Amazon Prime

Virtual cards are linked to a real funding source, but they mask your financial details at checkout, substituting them with random, unique card numbers. With a dedicated virtual card provider such as Privacy, you’ll also get various card settings to control your spending and prevent excessive and unwarranted charges from merchants.

A bird’s eye view photo of a person using a laptop, with a payment card sitting on the table
Source: Mikhail Nilov

Privacy Virtual Cards—Controlled and Worry-Free Payments

Privacy is packed with features to help you protect your financial information from misuse and manage your expenses. You can connect your debit card or bank account and generate Privacy Virtual Cards to use for every purpose. You have two card types to choose from—learn about them in the following table:

Card Type How It Works What It’s Useful For
Single-Use Card This card closes shortly after the first purchase is completed. You can use it when shopping on a website for the first time and when you’re unsure of its credibility.
Merchant-Locked Card This card “locks” to the first merchant you buy from. You can use it for merchants you shop from regularly and your go-to subscription services like Netflix, Kindle, and ESPN Plus.

Merchant-Locked Cards help you manage your subscriptions with the following features:

  • Card pausing and closing—You can pause or close cards quickly and without affecting your debit card or bank account. Privacy will block all charges on said cards. This feature allows you to focus on completing the cancellation process knowing that no unexpected charges can sneak through.
  • Spending limits—When you set a spending limit on your card, you can prevent any merchant or subscription service from charging you more than you initially agreed. Privacy will decline all transactions that exceed the designated limit. 

Privacy—Additional Features and Signup Process

Privacy’s list of benefits doesn’t end there. Thanks to its browser extension, you can enjoy fast and seamless checkouts. The extension autofills virtual card numbers every time you make an online purchase, saving you from having to memorize or type in card numbers. The supported browsers include:

You can also download the Privacy mobile app for Android and iOS to create and manage your virtual cards on the go. You’ll receive a notification when a card is used or declined, helping you monitor your account activity in real time.

Getting Privacy Virtual Cards is straightforward—you only have to:

  1. Create your account
  2. Enter the details needed to verify your identity
  3. Connect a bank account or debit card
  4. Request and generate virtual cards

Privacy’s Personal plan, which is free for domestic purchases, includes 12 virtual cards a month and all the features presented above. You can opt for Pro ($10/month) or Premium ($25/month) to unlock additional cards (up to 60 a month) and features such as fee-free international transactions, priority support, and 1% cashback on transactions totaling up to $4,500 a month.

Privacy — Seamless & Secure Online Card Payments
Checkout securely online by creating unique virtual card numbers for every purchase. Avoid data breaches, unwanted charges, and stolen credit card numbers.
Sign Up