How To Cancel a Walmart Membership—A Guide to Frictionless Cancellation

Ashley Ferraro, Consumer Operations
Dec 12, 2023
 • 
10
 Min Read

Walmart Plus is a membership program offering Walmart shoppers benefits like free shipping, discounts on fuel, and even access to a Paramount Plus subscription. However, if you’ve experienced issues with the company, such as claimed incomplete or missed deliveries, inaccurate inventory information, or unfavorable customer support resolutions, you may feel like it’s time to opt out of the service.

To find out how to cancel a Walmart membership, keep reading this article. By the end, you'll have all the information you need to cancel the service successfully and avoid gratuitous costs.

Note that the content in this article is valid as of November 2023. Please visit the official Walmart Plus page or contact support for updates.

A photo of a smartphone displaying the Walmart logo on the screen
Source: Marques Thomas

How To Cancel a Walmart Plus Subscription in Three Ways

You can cancel a Walmart Plus membership or free trial via:

  1. Phone by calling Walmart Customer Care at (800) 924-9206
  2. Your account settings on the website
  3. Your account settings in the app

To learn how to cancel a Walmart membership online, refer to the table below:


On the Website
On the App
  1. Go to your account settings by clicking on the Account option in the top right and then selecting Account again.

  2. In the left sidebar, click on Walmart+.

  3. Click on Manage Membership.

  4. Scroll down to the bottom and select Cancel Walmart+.

  1. Go to Account. The option is located in the bottom panel on the right.

  2. Tap Subscriptions & plans, then Walmart+.

  3. Tap the cog icon next to the Walmart+ logo on the top.

  4. Scroll down to the bottom and tap Cancel membership.

After terminating your Walmart subscription, automatic payments will stop, and you’ll be able to enjoy the offer until the end of the billing term

If you plan on returning to Walmart Plus again soon, you can pause your membership instead of canceling. You’re allowed to pause it one month at a time up to three times a year. 

Can You Cancel Walmart Plus at Any Time?

Yes—but know that if you end your Walmart Plus subscription during the free trial, you’ll lose access to its benefits instantly. It’s also advisable to cancel your paid subscription at least a few days before the next payment date to give Walmart time to process your request and avoid having to pay for another month or year of services.

A close-up photo of a laptop with Walmart’s homepage on the screen
Source: Marques Thomas

Why Virtual Cards Are the Preferred Payment Method for Subscriptions

Unfortunately, cancellations aren’t always as simple as described. For example, one Trustpilot user claimed that they were mistakenly charged twice after canceling their Walmart Plus free trial three days before its end date.

While errors can happen to anyone, some subscription-based companies may do everything in their power to make canceling difficult and keep you subscribed for as long as possible. Their methods are various—from making the cancellation link barely noticeable to requiring you to call customer support and wait on hold for hours. In some cases, you may incur charges even if you complete the cancellation process successfully.

To prevent unjustified charges from sneaky merchants, purchase your subscriptions with virtual cards. The primary purpose of these cards is to protect your financial information from potential misuse by substituting it with random payment card numbers at checkout. However, if you opt for a dedicated virtual card service like Privacy, you’ll also be able to exercise increased control over subscription charges and enjoy comprehensive customization features.

Secure Your Funds and Financial Information With Privacy Virtual Cards

While many banks offer virtual cards, including American Express® and Capital One®, few offer as many benefits as Privacy does. When you use Privacy Virtual Cards to shop, you’re protected not only from potential hackers who breach merchants’ servers but also from sneaky companies attempting to overcharge you.

You can learn about Privacy’s card types in the table below:


Single-Use Card
The Single-Use Card closes shortly after you complete the first purchase. You can use it on unfamiliar websites and those you don’t plan on visiting again. 
Merchant-Locked Card
The Merchant-Locked Card locks to the first merchant you buy from. These cards are ideal for merchants you shop at frequently and favorite subscription services like Audible, Canva, and Zoom.

You can use the following card controls on your Merchant-Locked Cards to avoid unwarranted and excessive charges:

  • Card pausing/closing—You can pause or close your Merchant-Locked Cards effortlessly and without affecting the funding source. Privacy will block all transaction attempts on closed or paused cards, so you can go through the company’s lengthy cancellation procedure without having to deal with unjustified charges.
  • Spending limits—You can set spending limits on your Merchant-Locked Cards, and Privacy will decline all exceeding charges, preventing sneaky merchants from charging you more than the agreed price.
A close-up photo of a person typing on a smartphone while holding a payment card
Source: Tima Miroshnichenko

Start Using Privacy in Four Simple Steps

Take charge of your spending with Privacy and become a customer in four steps:

  1. Sign up
  2. Fill out the details needed to verify your identity
  3. Provide a funding source (debit card or bank account)
  4. Generate Privacy Virtual Cards

You can use Privacy Cards with most merchants you know and love, including streaming platforms like the Dish Network, HBO Max, and NFL Plus, and other subscription services like Peloton, DashPass, and Curology

For fast and seamless online transactions, you can download Privacy's browser extension, which does the following:

  • Autofills virtual card details at checkout for you, saving you from having to look for your wallet or memorize card numbers
  • Is available for all the popular browsers—Chrome, Firefox, Edge, and Safari
  • Brings efficient checkouts to iPad and iPhone users with the Safari iOS version

By installing the Privacy mobile app on your Android or iOS, you’ll be able to generate and manage virtual cards regardless of your location. You’ll also receive a push notification whenever your cards are used or declined.

Privacy gives you three pricing options to choose from. The base plan, Personal, is free for domestic transactions and includes 12 virtual cards a month and all the above-listed benefits. The Pro ($10/month) and Premium ($25/month) plans come with features such as:

  • Up to 60 new virtual cards monthly
  • Fee-free foreign transactions
  • Priority support
Privacy — Seamless & Secure Online Card Payments
Checkout securely online by creating unique virtual card numbers for every purchase. Avoid data breaches, unwanted charges, and stolen credit card numbers.
Sign Up