How To Cancel a Peloton Membership—Understanding the Process and Terms

Ashley Ferraro, Consumer Operations
Dec 14, 2023
 • 
10
 Min Read

Peloton has revolutionized at-home workouts, offering top-of-the-line exercise equipment combined with a versatile fitness class streaming platform. However, some users haven’t found Peloton to be a good fit or want a change in their fitness routine.

If you’re looking to cancel a Peloton membership, refer to this article for guidance. This guide will present the exact steps you need to take and other useful information that will enable smooth cancellation—whether you have the Peloton App or the Peloton Equipment subscription. 

Please note that the content in this guide is valid as of November 2023. You should refer to the official Peloton website or contact customer support for updates.

A photo of a person riding a stationary bicycle
Source: cottonbro studio

How To Cancel a Peloton App Membership

You should cancel a Peloton app membership on the same platform you’ve purchased it from. If you’ve signed up via Peloton’s website, you should proceed as follows:

  1. Go to Peloton’s website and log in.
  2. Click on the three horizontal lines symbol in the top right corner.
  3. Select Preferences, then Memberships.
  4. Click on the Manage option next to your subscription.
  5. Select Cancel Subscription.
  6. Confirm your choice.

In the table below, you will learn how to cancel a Peloton subscription on an iPhone, iPad, or Android device:


Android 
iOS
  1. Launch the Google Play Store on your Android phone or tablet.

  2. Tap your profile icon, then select Payments & subscriptions.

  3. Go to Subscriptions.

  4. Select the Peloton subscription.

  5. Tap Cancel subscription.

  6. Follow the provided instructions.

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.

  2. Tap your name, then select Subscriptions.

  3. Select the Peloton subscription.

  4. Tap the Cancel Subscription option. You may need to scroll down to find the option.

  5. Confirm.

If you want to cancel a Peloton subscription you’ve signed up for via other sources, such as Roku, Amazon Fire TV, or Verizon, follow the instructions from the official Peloton support page.

How To Cancel Peloton Equipment Memberships

To terminate your Peloton Equipment membership online, take these steps:

  1. Go to Peloton’s website and log in.
  2. Navigate to your Peloton Account Settings, then My Memberships.
  3. Click on Manage next to your subscription.
  4. Select Cancel.

You can also cancel through Peloton Member Support via the company’s website or phone at 1-866-679-9129.

What Happens if I Cancel My Peloton Subscription?

Once you cancel your Peloton membership, it will stop renewing starting the next billing cycle. You can keep using Peloton’s features until the end of the current subscription period. Except in a few specific cases listed in the Membership Terms, you won’t be able to get a refund for the membership you paid but don’t want to use anymore. 

A close-up photo of a person’s feet while running on a treadmill
Source: Tima Miroshnichenko

Why Can’t I Cancel My Peloton Subscription?

If you run into issues while attempting to cancel your Peloton subscription, you should contact Peloton’s customer support via phone or live chat.

The reasons for cancellation issues at any company can be various, from technical errors to miscommunications between employees. Another potential explanation is that you’ve missed a step during the cancellation process.

You should also be aware that some companies go out of their way to make the cancellation process confusing and laborious. For example, they may use vague or ambiguous language, causing you to overlook a crucial step and unintentionally continue paying for a subscription you no longer want.

Thanks to virtual cards, you can avoid being wrongfully charged by a subscription service. Virtual cards are linked to a real funding source, but they shield your real financial information with random card numbers at checkout. Besides protecting your actual card and bank data in case of a data breach on the merchant's servers, dedicated virtual card providers like Privacy allow you to fine-tune your cards’ settings and avoid unwarranted charges from a subscription service.

Safeguard Your Funds With Privacy Virtual Cards

As a company accredited by the Better Business Bureau®, Privacy offers top-tier customer service and adheres to stringent security standards. When you connect your debit card or bank account to Privacy and use its virtual cards to shop, your real card and bank account data remain safe, and your funds are protected from unauthorized transactions.

Privacy allows you to create Single-Use and Merchant-Locked Cards. The Single-Use Card is perfect for shopping on unfamiliar websites since it closes shortly after the first transaction is completed. The Merchant-Locked Card “locks” to the first merchant you use it at, which makes the card perfect for websites you shop at frequently. It’s also suitable for subscription payments for different services, such as DashPass, Curology, and Chegg

Merchant-Locked Cards come with additional benefits. You can pause or close your virtual cards to block all charges without affecting your debit card or bank account. This feature helps you avoid paying for another period of services while you’re navigating the complex subscription cancellation procedure.

You can also set spending limits on your Merchant-Locked Cards. Privacy will decline all charges that exceed the designated limits, preventing sneaky merchants from charging you more than the agreed price.

Privacy—Easy Access on All Devices

With Privacy, you can take advantage of numerous other features for a secure and effortless shopping experience. To enjoy faster and more seamless checkouts, download the Privacy Browser Extension. It’s available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Safari and autofills card details at checkout, so you don’t have to memorize or type in card numbers. If you own an iPhone or iPad, you can get the extension for Safari iOS

Privacy also has a mobile app for Android and iOS that allows you to conveniently generate and manage virtual cards on the go. 

A photo of a person using a tablet and holding a payment card
Source: Cup of Couple

Privacy Virtual Cards—Setup and Pricing

To start using Privacy, take these steps:

  1. Create your account
  2. Provide the details for identity verification
  3. Connect a funding source (debit card or bank account)
  4. Request and create virtual cards

Privacy has three pricing plans, whose benefits you can discover in the table below:


Plan
Price
Virtual Cards a Month
Benefits
Personal
Free for domestic purchases
12
  • Card pausing and closing

  • Spending limits

  • Browser extension access

  • Mobile app access

Pro
$10/month
36
  • Everything in Personal

  • No foreign transaction fees

  • Priority support

  • 1% cashback on eligible purchases (up to $4,500 a month)

  • Ability to mask transaction info on bank statements

Premium
$25/month
60
  • Everything in Pro

  • Dedicated account management

Privacy Cards are accepted at most vendors and websites, including streaming platforms such as Paramount Plus, NFL Plus, or Spotify, and other popular subscription services like Walmart, Zoom, and Canva.

Privacy — Seamless & Secure Online Card Payments
Checkout securely online by creating unique virtual card numbers for every purchase. Avoid data breaches, unwanted charges, and stolen credit card numbers.
Sign Up