How To Cancel HelloFresh—Process and Tips

Ashley Ferraro, Consumer Operations
Jan 23, 2024
 • 
10
 Min Read

HelloFresh has dominated the meal kit delivery market since its launch in 2011 and became the leading meal kit company in the U.S. in 2022. Their easy-to-follow recipes, pre-measured fresh ingredients, and convenient delivery have made cooking at home more accessible and enjoyable for over 7.1 million active customers worldwide.

Despite its convenience and variety, HelloFresh may not be the right fit for everybody. If you want to cancel HelloFresh, refer to this step-by-step guide. This tutorial will explain the exact steps you need to take and provide tips to avoid unwanted charges for any subscription you are trying to cancel.

Note that the content in this article is valid as of November 2023. Please visit the official HelloFresh website or contact the customer support team for updates.

A close-up photo of fresh vegetables placed on top of a wooden table
Source: MART PRODUCTION

Canceling HelloFresh—What You Need To Know

Before you cancel your HelloFresh account, you should know that you can pause your subscription temporarily if you plan on using their services again in the future. You can skip up to six weeks of orders at a time by completing these steps:

  1. Log into your account.
  2. Navigate to the My Menu tab.
  3. Select the day of the week you want to skip, then click Skip Week.

If you are determined to cancel your HelloFresh subscription, you should do so at least five days before your next delivery date. The cutoff time is 11:59 pm PST, so make sure you cancel your subscription before that. If you forget to cancel or skip your delivery, HelloFresh will charge and deliver the upcoming order, and you won't be able to get a refund.

The following section outlines the specific steps you should follow to cancel your HelloFresh subscription via the website, app, or phone call.

How To Cancel HelloFresh Subscription via the Website

To discontinue your HelloFresh subscription via the website, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your account at HelloFresh.com.
  2. Select your name in the upper right corner of the screen and click Account Settings.
  3. Scroll down the Plan settings page and select Cancel Plan under the Status section.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to proceed with the cancellation process.

You should receive a message from HelloFresh confirming that your subscription has been successfully canceled. If you do not receive this email, you should contact HelloFresh customer service to ensure your account has been terminated.

How To Cancel HelloFresh on the App and Via Phone Call

If you’ve signed up for HelloFresh using the mobile app—Android or iOS—you must cancel your subscription directly through the app. The following table details the exact steps you should complete to end your HelloFresh subscription via app and phone call:

Via Mobile App Via Phone Call
  1. Launch the HelloFresh app and log into your account.

  2. Locate Settings in the bottom right corner of your screen.

  3. Scroll to the Plan Settings tab and tap Edit.

  4. Select Cancel Anyway and choose a reason for canceling.

  5. Click Continue, then tap Cancel Anyway again to confirm.

  1. Prepare your account information, such as the email address, phone number, and payment details.

  2. Call HelloFresh customer service at 1 (800) 733-2414 (toll-free, available 24/7) and request to cancel your subscription.

  3. Follow the steps provided by the customer service representative to complete your cancellation.

You can also email HelloFresh at hello@hellofresh.com and ask them to cancel your account. Make sure to include all the necessary details in the message, such as your name, email address, phone number, and reason for canceling.

A bird’s eye view photo of a woman browsing on a laptop placed on her lap
Source: Christina @ wocintechchat.com

Is It Easy To Cancel HelloFresh?

Canceling HelloFresh is a straightforward process, but this doesn’t mean an occasional glitch can’t happen. According to Trustpilot reviews, one user claimed to have been charged for an order even after they had canceled their membership. Another user allegedly had their card charged after canceling an order that hadn't been processed yet.

While issues with subscription cancellations can arise from technical glitches or honest errors, some companies may intentionally make the cancellation process difficult to keep you from leaving. They may use tactics such as vague cancellation instructions and confusing design to prolong the procedure and continue to charge you. You may be billed even after completing all the required steps.

To avoid such inconveniences and protect yourself from overcharges by subscription merchants, use virtual cards to pay for your subscriptions. Virtual cards mask your actual financial information with random card numbers at checkout, shielding it from potential hackers. Dedicated virtual card providers like Privacy provide comprehensive card controls and customization features on top of robust security to help you manage your online spending and subscriptions more successfully.

An illustration of the front and back sides of a credit card against a blue background
Source: Pixabay

How Privacy Virtual Cards Protect Against Unwanted Subscription Charges

Once you link a debit card or bank account to Privacy, you can generate two types of cards—Single-Use and Merchant-Locked. Learn how these cards work in the following table:

Card Type What It Is and How It Works
Single-Use These cards close a few minutes after you complete your first transaction. They are ideal for making purchases on unfamiliar websites and those you don't plan to visit again.
Merchant-Locked These cards “lock” to the first merchant you purchase at and can be used repeatedly. They are perfect for merchants you frequently use and your favorite subscription services, such as FuboTV, ESPN Plus, YouTube TV, and Disney Plus.

Privacy Cards have the following card control features to protect you from unexpected and excessive charges:

  • Card pausing/closing—You can pause or close your Privacy Cards in a few clicks without affecting your linked funding source. Privacy will block all attempted charges on paused or closed cards, so you don't have to worry about unwarranted charges during a company's lengthy cancellation process or after completing it.
  • Spending limits—You can also set spending limits for your Privacy Cards to protect yourself from accidental or deliberate overcharges from merchants and subscription services. Privacy will decline any charges that exceed the preset limit.

Enjoy Security, Convenience, and Control With Privacy

You can use Privacy Virtual Cards at your favorite merchants that accept U.S. Visa® and Mastercard® payments, such as Peacock, Kindle Unlimited, Planet Fitness, and Roku. To enhance your convenience and user experience, Privacy offers additional features:

  • Browser extension for fast and seamless transactions—The Privacy Browser Extension for Edge, Chrome, Safari, and Firefox autofills your virtual card details at checkout, so you don't have to reach for your wallet or manually type in card details every time you shop. iPhone and iPad users can enjoy seamless transactions with the Safari iOS extension.
  • Mobile app to manage your cards on the go—With the Privacy mobile app for iOS and Android, you can create new virtual cards and manage the existing ones. You can also monitor your card activity and charges in real time with the help of push notifications.

To get started with Privacy, complete the following steps:

  1. Register
  2. Enter the mandatory Know-Your-Customer (KYC) information
  3. Link a debit card or bank account
  4. Request and create your virtual cards

Privacy offers three pricing plans. The Personal plan is free for domestic transactions, lets you create up to 12 virtual cards per month, and provides access to all the above benefits. The paid plans, Pro ($10/month) and Premium ($25/month) offer additional benefits, including:

  • More virtual cards (up to 60 per month)
  • Fee-free foreign transactions
  • 1% cashback on eligible purchases (up to $4,500 a month)

Privacy — Seamless & Secure Online Card Payments
Checkout securely online by creating unique virtual card numbers for every purchase. Avoid data breaches, unwanted charges, and stolen credit card numbers.
Sign Up